Join our newsletter!
Receive as HTML?

Sponsoring all conference championships in 33 men's and women's sports, and averaging more than 35 varsity teams at each school, the Ivy League provides intercollegiate athletic opportunities for more men and women than any other conference in the country. All eight Ivy schools are among the "top 20" of NCAA Division I schools in number of sports offered for both men and women.

The most diverse intercollegiate competition in the country for both men and women is also among the best. In recent years, the Ivy League has been synonymous with national excellence in men's and women's soccer, lacrosse, rowing, fencing and squash, and individual Ivy athletes have regularly excelled as well in football, track and field, wrestling and swimming. Ivy teams have enjoyed significant success in the opening rounds of the NCAA Division I basketball championships.

This successful competition in Division I national athletics is achieved by approaching athletics as a key part of the student's regular undergraduate experience: with rigorous academic standards, the nation's highest four-year graduation rates (the same as those for non-athletes), and without athletics scholarships. Ivy athletic programs receive multi-million-dollar institutional support as part of each institution’s overall academic programs, independent of win-loss or competitive records and together with extensive programs of intramural and recreational athletics.

Since 2000 alone, the Ivy League...

• Produced 47 NCAA individual/event champions in fencing, women’s swimming and diving, women’s rowing, men’s indoor track & field, men’s outdoor track and field, women’s indoor track and field, women’s outdoor track and field and wrestling while earning 11 NCAA team championships in fencing, men’s lacrosse, women’s lacrosse and women’s rowing. The League has also captured national champions in the non-NCAA sports of men’s squash and men’s rowing. All eight Ivy League schools have had at least one NCAA champion – individual or team – during this span.

• Amassed nearly 100 student-athletes per year earning All-America honors.

• Totaled 136 student-athletes receiving Academic All-America recognition, including an all-time high of 18 in 2006-07.

• Had 223 competitors at the five Olympic Games (2000, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2008 and 2010). Those 223 athletes collected 91 medals, including six gold. At the 2010 Winter Olympics in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, the League had 19 athletes winning 10 medals (six gold, three silver and one bronze). At the 2008 Summer Olympics in Beijing, China, 42 Ivy athletes took home 14 medals (five gold, seven silver and two bronze).

• Hosted the first ESPN College GameDay football show to draw more than 1.5 million households (November 16, 2002, Harvard-Penn at Franklin Field).

• Boasts numerous athletes in the professional ranks including Major League Baseball (Princeton’s Chris Young, 2007 National League All-Star with the San Diego Padres), Major League Lacrosse (Princeton’s Ryan Boyle and Matt Striebel, three-time champions with the Philadelphia Barrage), the National Football League (Brown’s Sean Morey of the Pittsburgh Steelers and Harvard’s Isaiah Kacyvenski of the Seattle Seahawks, team captains for Super Bowl XL; Cornell’s Kevin Boothe, Brown’s Zak DeOssie and Penn’s Jim Finn, Super Bowl XLII champions with the New York Giants; and Brown’s DeOssie and Morey, 2009 Pro Bowl selections), the National Hockey League (Harvard’s Craig Adams, 2006 Stanley Cup champion with the Carolina Hurricanes and 2009 Stanley Cup champion with the Pittsburgh Penguins, and Princeton’s George Parros, 2007 Stanley Cup champion with the Anaheim Ducks), and the Women’s United Soccer Association (Dartmouth’s Kristin Luckenbill, 2002 Founders Cup champion with the Carolina Courage, now playing for Women’s Professional Soccer's Boston Breakers).

• Became the first conference to sweep the four major NCAA Honors in the same year (2006) — Columbia’s Robert Kraft claiming the Theodore Roosevelt Award; Princeton’s John Doar the Inspirational Award; Yale’s Susan Wellington a Silver Anniversary Award; and Brown’s Nick Hartigan a Top VIII Award.

• Became the second conference with three of the six NCAA Silver Anniversary Award winners in the same year (2007) — Dartmouth's Gail Koziara Boudreaux, Brown's Steve Jordan and Yale's Patricia Melton.

• Posted far and away the best record in Division I, across all sports and conferences, in the first three annual compilations (2007-09) of the NCAA's Academic Progress Rate.